Milestones 2006

Milestones in Privacy

Australia enacts the Federal Privacy Act on December 30, 2006.

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) publishes final specifications for the Platform for Privacy Preferences Project (P3P) on November 13, 2006.

IAPP Milestones

The IAPP launches the CIPP/C, the first national certification in data protection and the first private sector designation ever available to Canadian privacy professionals, December 30, 2006.

The IAPP holds the first Privacy Dinner, a special evening of celebration and recognition for the privacy profession, in Washington, DC, November 6, 2006.

The IAPP holds the National Summit, March 8-10, 2006, in Washington, DC and the Privacy Academy, October 18-20, 2005, in Toronto, Ontario.

The IAPP leads a delegation of members on a Delegate Tour to Asia Pacific.

The IAPP takes over management of INSIDE 1to1:Privacy from Peppers & Rogers in July 2006.

The IAPP presents the Privacy Leadership Award to David Brailer, National Coordinator for Health Information Technology, HHS.

Chris Zoladz, President of Information Protection and Privacy, Marriott International, is honored with the IAPP Privacy Vanguard Award.

The IAPP presents Privacy Innovation Awards to Royal Philips Electronics and General Electric Corp. (large organization), ATB Financial (small organization) and Voltage Security, Inc. (technology).

IAPP Executive Committee:

Kirk M. Herath, CIPP/G, Chief Privacy Officer, Associate General Counsel Nationwide Insurance Companies

Vice President
Sandra R. Hughes, CIPP, Global Privacy Executive, Procter & Gamble

Becky Burr, CIPP, Partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP

Dale Skivington, CIPP, Chief Privacy Officer, Assistant General Counsel, Eastman Kodak Co.

Past President
Chris Zoladz, Vice President, Information Protection, Marriott International

Executive Director
J. Trevor Hughes, CIPP, IAPP

IAPP Board of Directors:

Jonathan D. Avila, Vice President, Chief Privacy Legal Officer, The Walt Disney Co.

John Berard, CIPP, Managing Director, Zeno Group

Agnes Bundy Scanlan, Esq., CIPP, Counsel, Goodwin Procter LLP

Peter Cullen, CIPP, Chief Privacy Strategist, Microsoft Corp.

Dean Forbes, CIPP, Chief Privacy Officer, Schering-Plough Corp.

Kimberly Gray, CIPP, Chief Privacy Officer, Highmark, Inc.

Jean-Paul Hepp, CIPP, Chief Privacy Officer, Pfizer Inc.

David Hoffman, CIPP, Group Counsel and Director of Privacy, Intel Corp.

Barbara Lawler, CIPP, Chief Privacy Officer, Intuit

Kirk Nahra, CIPP, Partner, Wiley Rein & Fielding LLP

Nuala O’Connor Kelly, CIPP/G, Chief Privacy Leader, General Electric Company

Harriet Pearson, CIPP/G, Vice President Corporate Affairs, Chief Privacy Officer, IBM Corporation

Jules Polonetsky, CIPP, Vice President, Integrity Assurance America Online, Inc.

Lauren Steinfeld, CIPP, Chief Privacy Officer, University of Pennsylvania

Zoe Strickland, CIPP/G, Chief Privacy Officer, U.S. Postal Service

Amy Yates, CIPP, Chief Compliance Manager, Hewitt Associates


Back to Timeline