Milestones 2005

Milestones in Privacy

Japan’s Act on the Protection of Personal Information comes into force on April 1, 2005.

IAPP Milestones

The IAPP reaches the 2,000 member milestone in December 2005.

The CIPP/G, the first publicly available certification for U.S. government privacy professionals, launches March 9, 2005.

The IAPP’s member newsletter, the Privacy Officers Advisor, officially changes its name to the Privacy Advisor.

The IAPP holds the National Summit, March 9-11, 2005, in Washington, DC and the Privacy Academy, October 26-28, 2005, in Las Vegas, NV.

The IAPP presents the Privacy Leadership Award to noted academic and author Dr. Alan Westin.

Nuala O’Connor Kelly, CIPP/G, Chief Privacy Leader and Senior Counsel, General Electric Company, is honored with the IAPP Privacy Vanguard Award.

The IAPP presents Privacy Innovation Awards to Nextel (large organization), Ontario Office of the Information and Privacy Commissioner (small organization) and Watchfire (technology).

IAPP Executive Committee:

Chris Zoladz, Vice President, Information Protection, Marriott International

Vice President
Kirk M. Herath, Chief Privacy Officer & Associate General Counsel, Nationwide Insurance Companies

Janet McCoy, Chief Privacy Officer & Senior Vice President, Sovereign Bank

Past President
Agnes Bundy Scanlan, Esq.

Executive Director

J. Trevor Hughes, IAPP

IAPP Board of Directors:

John Berard, Managing Director, PR21

Becky Burr, Partner, Wilmer Cutler & Pickering

Peter Cullen, Chief Privacy Strategist, Microsoft Corp.

Kimberly Gray, Chief Privacy Officer, Highmark Inc.

Jean-Paul Hepp, Chief Privacy Officer, Pfizer, Inc.

Sandra Hughes, Global Privacy Executive, Procter & Gamble

Barbara Lawler, Chief Privacy Officer, HP

Kevin Levitt, Chief Privacy Officer, EDS

Kirk Nahra, Partner, Wiley Rein & Fielding

Harriet Pearson, Vice President, Workforce & Chief Privacy Officer, IBM Corporation

Jules Polonetsky, Vice President, Integrity Assurance, America Online, Inc.

Richard Purcell, Chief Executive Officer, Corporate Privacy Group

Dale Skivington, Chief Privacy Officer, Eastman Kodak

Lauren Steinfeld, Chief Privacy Officer, University of Pennsylvania

Zoe Strickland, Chief Privacy Officer, U.S. Postal Service

General Counsel: Jim Koenig, PricewaterhouseCoopers


Back to Timeline