Milestones 2009

Milestones in Privacy

The Genetic Information Non-discrimination Act (GINA) is signed into law in November 2009.

Data protection authorities and industry players sign a global agreement on data protection at the 31st Conference of International Data Protection Authorities in November 2009.

The EU Parliament passes telecoms reform, instituting the first data breach notification requirements in Europe in December 2009.

The United States House and the Senate declare January 28, 2009 National Data Privacy Day.

IAPP Milestones

In March 2009 the IAPP reaches 6,000 members.

The IAPP launches two new regional online newsletters, the European Data Protection Digest and the IAPP ANZ Dashboard Digest.

Two new IAPP communities, IAPP Canada and IAPP Europe, are established to provide targeted services to members in those regions.

The IAPP holds the Privacy Summit, March 11-13, 2009, in Washington, DC and the Privacy Academy, September 16-18, 2009, in Boston, MA.

The annual IAPP Privacy Dinner is held in conjunction with the IAPP Privacy Academy in Boston, MA.

The second annual IAPP Canadian Privacy Summit is held April 29-May 1, 2009 in Toronto, ON.

On June 17-18, 2009 the IAPP moves the Practical Privacy Series: Data Breach, Data Governance, Human Resources and Information Security and Privacy to Santa Clara, CA.

The IAPP holds the second IAPP Data Protection and Privacy Workshop, November 3, 2009, in Madrid, Spain.

The Practical Privacy Series: The Role of the FTC in Consumer Privacy Protection is held in Washington, DC on December 8, 2009, followed by New Dimensions in Government Privacy: Cookies Clouds and Collaborative Computing on December 9.

In just five years, the KnowledgeNet program expands to 35 locations in 10 countries.

The IAPP presents the Privacy Leadership Award to U.S. Senator Olympia J. Snowe.

Michelle Dennedy, Chief Governance Officer, Cloud Computing, Sun Microsystems, Inc., is honored with the IAPP Privacy Vanguard Award.

The IAPP presents Privacy Innovation Awards to Barclay’s Bank PLC (large organization), the Graduate Management Admissions Council (GMAC) (small organization) and IBM Research and Stanford University (technology).

IAPP Executive Committee:

Jonathan D. Avila, CIPP, Vice President – Counsel, Chief Privacy Officer, The Walt Disney Company

Vice President

Nuala O’Connor Kelly, CIPP/G, Chief Privacy Leader and Senior Counsel, General Electric Company

David Hoffman, CIPP, Director of Security Policy and Global Privacy Officer, Intel Corp.

Amy Yates, CIPP, Director, Privacy and Data Protection, Deloitte & Touche LLP

Past President
Sandra R. Hughes, CIPP, Global Ethics, Compliance and Privacy Executive, The Proctor & Gamble Company

Executive Director
J. Trevor Hughes, CIPP, IAPP

IAPP Board of Directors:

Bojana Bellamy, Global Data Privacy Compliance Lead, Accenture

Malcolm Crompton, Managing Director, Information Integrity Solutions Pty Ltd.

Stan Crosley, Esq., CIPP, Chief Privacy Officer, Eli Lilly and Co.

Dean Forbes, CIPP, Senior Director Global Privacy, Schering-Plough Corp.

D. Reed Freeman, Jr., CIPP, Partner, Kelley Drye & Warren, LLP

Jeff Green, CIPP/C, Vice President, Global Compliance, Chief Privacy Officer, Royal Bank of Canada

Kirk M. Herath, CIPP/G, Associate Vice President, Chief Privacy Officer, Associate General Counsel, Nationwide Insurance Companies

Jane Horvath, CIPP/G, Senior Privacy Counsel, Google

Alexander W. Joel, CIPP/G, Civil Liberties Protection Officer, Office of the Director of National Intelligence

Harriet Pearson, CIPP, Vice President, Regulatory Policy and Chief Privacy Officer, IBM Corporation

Agnes Bundy Scanlan, Esq., CIPP, Counsel, Goodwin Procter LLP

Zoe Strickland, CIPP/G, Vice President, Chief Privacy Officer, Wal-Mart

Ex Officio Board Member: Kirk J. Nahra, CIPP, Partner, Wiley Rein LLP


Back to Timeline