Milestones 2004

Milestones in Privacy

The U.S. Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), enacted January 1, 1970, is amended with the FACT Act and re-published on May 20, 2004.

The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) applies to all industries across Canada on January 1, 2004, followed by the Personal Information Protection Acts (PIPAs), two provincial laws that are combined by Alberta and British Columbia into one omnibus law on June 1, 2004.

On November 1, 2004 the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Ministers approve the APEC Privacy Principles.

IAPP Milestones

On June 1, 2004 the IAPP reaches 1,000 members.

The IAPP Daily Dashboard, an online publication that compiles the day’s top privacy news stories, launches.

The first IAPP certification exam, the CIPP, is taken by 150 privacy professionals at the IAPP Privacy & Data Security Academy and Expo in New Orleans on October 26, 2004.

The first KnowledgeNets, the IAPP’s popular series of free networking meetings, are held in Boston, New York and Washington, DC.

The IAPP leads a delegation of members on a Delegate Tour to Europe to meet with data protection officials in Dublin, London, Paris and Brussels, December 7-10, 2004.

The IAPP presents its first Privacy Vanguard Award, recognizing exemplary knowledge and leadership in the field of privacy, to Agnes Bundy Scanlan, Senior Vice President of Regulatory Relations, Bank of America Corporation.

Orson Swindle, Former Chairman, U.S. Federal Trade Commission is recognized with the IAPP Privacy Leadership Award.

The IAPP presents Privacy Innovation Awards to Microsoft (private sector) and U.S. Postal Service (public sector/non-profit).

The IAPP TRUSTe Symposium: Privacy Futures is held June 9-11, 2004 in San Francisco, CA.

The IAPP holds the Privacy and Data Security Academy and Expo in New Orleans, October 27-29, 2004.

On September 30, 2004 the IAPP holds the Privacy and National Security Forum in Washington, DC.

The IAPP opens its “national office” at 266 York Street in York, Maine.

IAPP Executive Committee:

Chris Zoladz, Vice President, Information Protection, Marriott International

Vice President
Kirk M. Herath, Chief Privacy Officer & Associate General Counsel, Nationwide Insurance Companies

Janet McCoy, Chief Privacy Officer & Senior Vice President, Sovereign Bank

Executive Director
J. Trevor Hughes, IAPP

IAPP Board of Directors:

John Berard, General Manager, West Coast Operations, FitzGerald Communications

Becky Burr, Partner, Wilmer Cutler & Pickering

Jean-Paul Hepp, Chief Privacy Officer, Pharmacia Corporation

Sandra Hughes, Global Privacy Executive, Procter & Gamble

Barbara Lawler, Chief Privacy Officer, HP

Kevin Levitt, Chief Privacy Officer, EDS

Kirk Nahra, Partner, Wiley Rein & Fielding

Harriet Pearson, Vice President, Workforce & Chief Privacy Officer, IBM Corporation

Stephanie Perrin, President, Digital Discretion, Inc.

Jules Polenetsky, Vice President, Integrity Assurance, America Online, Inc.

Richard Purcell, Chief Executive Officer, Corporate Privacy Group

Dale Skivington, Chief Privacy Officer, Eastman Kodak

Lauren Steinfeld, Chief Privacy Officer, University of Pennsylvania

Zoe Strickland, Chief Privacy Officer, U.S. Postal Service

General Counsel: Jim Koenig, ePrivacy Group


Back to Timeline