Milestones 2001

Milestones in Privacy

The U.S. Financial Services Modernization Act, or Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (GLBA), creates privacy requirements for financial service institutions on July 1, 2001.

IAPP Milestones

The Privacy Officers Association (POA) holds the first annual Privacy and Data Protection Summit in Arlington, VA, May 3–4, 2001.

The POA joins with the Association of Corporate Privacy Officers to form the International Association of Privacy Officers (IAPO) with the goal of promoting, supporting and enhancing the skills and proficiency of privacy officers and other related professionals.

IAPO Board of Directors:

Agnes Bundy Scanlan, Chief Privacy Officer, FleetBoston Financial

John Bentivoglio, Esq., Partner, Arnold & Porter

Becky Burr, Partner, Wilmer Cutler Pickering

Lorna Christie, Chief Privacy Officer, Identico Systems

Jean-Paul Hepp, Chief Privacy Officer, Pharmacia Corporation

Marilou King, Partner, McDermott Will Emery

Kevin Levitt, Chief Privacy Officer, EDS

Janet McCoy, Chief Privacy Officer, Sovereign Bank

Lisa Murtha, Compliance/Privacy Officer, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Harriet Pearson, Chief Privacy Officer, IBM

Stephanie Perrin, Chief Privacy Officer, Zero Knowledge

Jules Polonetsky, Chief Privacy Officer, DoubleClick Inc.

Benjamin Robinson, Chief Privacy Officer, MasterCard

Vincent Schiavone, Chief Executive Officer, ePrivacy Group

Lorrie Sherwood, Executive Director, P&AB

Dale Skivington, Chief Privacy Officer, Eastman Kodak

Chris Zoladz, Chief Privacy Officer, Marriott International

General Counsel: Jim Koenig, Chief Development and Legal Officer, ePrivacy Group


Back to Timeline