IAPP Annual Awards


We are pleased to announce the 2013 HP-IAPP Privacy Innovation Award winners. Congratulations to:

Johnson & Johnson, winner in the large organization category for development of the EEA Interactive Privacy Tool (IPT)

Canadian Primary Care Sentinel Surveillance Network, winner in the small organization category for the creation of the CPCSSN privacy program

Considerati, winner in the technology category for or the development of the Privacychecker.eu 

We are also honored to announce former Department of Homeland Security Chief Privacy Officer, Mary Ellen Callahan, CIPP/US, as the 2013 Privacy Vanguard Award winner. She was recognized for her visionary leadership and extensive work in consumer protection law.

Read more about the winners 

About the Awards

The HP-IAPP Privacy Innovation Awards

The IAPP developed and launched the Privacy Innovation Awards program in 2003 as a catalyst for organizations to look more closely at ways in which they can transform themselves through the organizational integration of privacy as well as reap the benefits of greater consumer/citizen satisfaction, enhanced customer relationships and the competitive advantages driven by unique privacy-enabled models.

The HP-IAPP Privacy Innovation Awards recognize unique programs and services in global privacy and data protection across both private and public sectors. These programs and services integrate privacy in such a way that elevates its value as both a competitive differentiator and a centerpiece of customer/citizen trust. The award program is managed exclusively by the IAPP and made possible through the generous underwriting support of HP.

Three winners are selected by a panel of judges each year across three award categories: large organization (5,000 or greater employees), small organization (fewer than 5,000 employees) and most innovative privacy technology.

Learn more about this award
See a complete list of past award recipients

The IAPP Privacy Vanguard Award

The IAPP Privacy Vanguard Award is given each year to the individual professional who best demonstrates outstanding leadership, knowledge and creativity in the field of privacy and data protection, whether through spearheading projects or programs that positively impact the privacy profession or through achievements over the course of an entire tenure or career.

The winner of the IAPP Privacy Vanguard Award is determined by a group review of letters supporting the nomination as well as evidence of annual or career achievements. The executive committee of the IAPP board of directors reviews these materials and chooses a winner by a majority vote.

All candidates submitted for consideration must be IAPP members. Candidates may self-nominate or be nominated by a third party. Two additional letters are required from colleagues and/or associates who support the nomination.

Learn more about this award
See a complete list of past award recipients

The IAPP Privacy Leadership Award

The Privacy Leadership Award is an honorary recognition of a global leader in the field of privacy and data protection who has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to furthering privacy policy, promoting recognition of privacy issues, and advancing the growth and visibility of the privacy profession.

Daniel Weitzner, Director and Co-founder of the MIT CSAIL Decentralized Information Group and former United States Deputy Chief Technology Officer for Internet Policy in the White House, is the distinguished recipient of the 2013 IAPP Privacy Leadership Award in recognition of his work and active leadership role in the development of Internet public policy. Read more about the 2012 Leadership Award.

Daniel Weitzner joins past Privacy Leadership Award recipients that include: Malcolm Crompton, Former Privacy Commissioner of Australia; the Center for Democracy and Technology, European Data Protection Supervisor Peter J. Hustinx, Olympia J. Snowe, U.S. Senator, Maine; Richard Thomas, Information Commissioner for the United Kingdom; Deborah Platt Majoras, Chairman of the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC), and Dr. Alan Westin, noted academic and author.

The IAPP Privacy Leadership Award is granted annually and presented at the IAPP Global Privacy Summit in Washington, DC, each spring.

See a complete list of past recipients